Banananut Butter Overnight Oats

After the initial boyish excitement of signing up to throw myself around an obstacle course for charity my brain quickly realised that I would need to eat well, not just train well.

That’s why I’ve been trying to eat clean as often as possible, eating less processed things and trying to balance out my diet. Lunch and dinner are easy to vary, but I’ve struggled with breakfast recently. Porridge was a first call for breakfast but after 3 weeks this has gotten a bit boring, so I’m trying something that I don’t think any person has ever achieved before: making porridge oats interesting.

But I found an answer and that answer is banananut butter overnight oats.

They sound fancy, they look fancy, but they’re really incredible easy and yummy. Get the ingredients, pile them into a jar, shake, pop into the fridge, go to bed, eat in the morning. Done.

2013-07-17 22.41.53

Ingredients

  • 65g Porridge oats
  • 10g Ground flaxseed
  • 50g Crunchy peanut butter (approx 2 tbsp)
  • 150ml Skimmed milk
  • 18g Runny honey (approx 2 tsp)
  • 80g Greek yoghurt
  • 1 Medium banana

Directions
Didn’t you read the bit above the ingredients list? Whack everything but the banana into a jar. Shake it up. It doesn’t even matter what order you do it in!

Once you’ve had enough fun trying to not throw a full jar across your kitchen, pop it into the fridge and then go to bed. When you get up and are ready for breakfast, slice the banana over the top and dig in!

2013-07-18 06.50.50

I thought this was easy and yummy, really giving porridge oats the lift I was searching for after 3 weeks of bland.

You can change the thickness of the oats by using semi-skimmed instead of skimmed or just add less milk and more yoghurt. I found the above amounts to be a bit stodgy so I’d suggest adding 25ml more milk and 10-15g less yoghurt, or even both. Sort your own breakfast out. I’m not your mum.

You can also add in different things, like fruit, nuts or coconut. Once I’ve had my second helping of this one tomorrow I’m either going to make an apple and cinnamon version or one packed with berries! Nom.

Nutrition
Per serving (recipe makes 2)

Calories 493

Total fat 18.4g
Saturated: 3.3g
Polyunsaturated: 1.6g
Monounsaturated: 0.4g
Trans/hydrogenated: 0.0g
Cholesterol 0.0mg
Sodium 139.4mg
Potassium 181.1mg
Total carbs 49.9g
Fibre: 7.2g
Sugars: 18.7g
Protein 16.7g
Vitamin A 0.5%
Vitamin C 7.5%
Calcium 4.8%
Iron 16.0%

I adapted this recipe from one I found on Pinterest, but had to change some amounts and also work out measurements as it was an American recipes using their silly cup system…

2 thoughts on “Banananut Butter Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: Tough Mudder Training: HHIIT (Homemade High Intensity Interval Training) | Jake Tries Things

  2. Pingback: Paprika Pork | Jake Tries Things

Leave a Reply

